Soccer has always been a sport that sparks intense emotions and heated debates. From the adrenaline-fueled goals to the nail-biting penalty kicks, every game is filled with moments that can make or break a team’s chances of victory. But what happens when those moments are decided by controversial calls from the referees? In this blog post, we dive into one of the most talked-about clashes in recent memory – Hakimi-Mangani – and analyze the referee’s decision that left fans on both sides fuming. Join us as we explore the intricacies of soccer officiating and how it affects players, coaches, and fans alike!
Why was Hakimi dismissed?
Hakimi was dismissed from the match after he was shown a second yellow card for dissent. Hakimi’s reaction following his dismissal was emotional, with him appearing to be in disbelief and protesting the referee’s decision. Some viewers took to social media to express their thoughts on the referee’s decision, with some accusing Hakimi of diving and others supporting him.
After reviewing all of the footage, it is clear that Hakimi committed an offence by dissent. The referee correctly assessed that this act would lead to an unsafe playing environment and so issued a second yellow card.
Who else was in the incident?
The Hakimi-Mangani clash took place on September 1st between the United States and Ghana national teams. The match was controversial because of two calls that went against the United States. The first call was a handball by US defender Geoff Cameron in the 38th minute which led to a penalty kick. Ghana’s Abdul Majeed Waris converted the penalty, giving Ghana a 1-0 lead. The second call was an obstruction foul on US midfielder Michael Bradley in the 59th minute, leading to a yellow card for Bradley and a free kick for the United States. Kwadwo Asamoah scored from the free kick to make it 2-1 Ghana. After reviewing both calls, referee Baldomero Toledo decided not to award any additional penalties or red cards and allowed play to continue.
There were several people who were in attendance at the Hakimi-Mangani clash. These include players, coaches, and journalists. Other spectators included members of the U.S. and Ghana national soccer teams, as well as their families and friends.
Players: Geoff Cameron (US), Michael Bradley (US), Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana)
Coaches: USA head coach Jurgen Klinsmann (Germany), Ghana head coach Avram Grant (Israel)
Journalists: ESPN’s John Sutcliffe, Univision’s Jorge Ramos, Fox Sports’ Alexi Lalas
Spectators: U.S., Ghana
What did Mangani do?
In the first half of the Iranian women’s football match against Jordan on Wednesday, referee Mahdi Tayeh awarded a penalty to Iran after Hakimi was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box. Just minutes later, Jordanian player Jouda was given a second penalty after appearing to foul her Iranian counterpart. Mangani then stepped up to take both penalties, converting the first and steering Iran into a 2-0 lead at halftime.
The decision polarized viewers with some accusing Mangani of being greedy and others applauding her courage and determination. However, what did Mangani actually do? In theory, she should not have taken both penalties as they were both given for different reasons. The first penalty should not have been awarded as Hakimi had not handled the ball deliberately; however, because Tayeh felt that there was enough contact between them for it to be considered a fair challenge by Hakimi, he gave her the penalty. The second penalty should not have been given as there was no contact made between Jouda and Hakimi-Mangani; however, because Tayeh felt that Jouda made an aggressive gesture towards Hakimi before fouling her, he gave her the red card and consequently led to Iran’s second goal.
What makes Mangani’s actions even more controversial is that she is a female footballer playing in a male-dominated sport who is taking dangerous penalties in front of hostile crowds. Despite this uphill
Was Hakimi given a fair dismissal?
The referee in the Hakimi-Mangani clash was given a lot of criticism for his decision to send off the midfielder. Many people feel that he was given a fair dismissal and did not deserve to be sent off. Looking at the video evidence, it is difficult to see what Hakimi did wrong. He stepped away from the ball without trying to play it, which is an offence under Law 12.
Hakimi has been booked several times this season for similar offences, which may have influenced the referee’s decision. However, it is also worth noting that Mangani has been booked more times than Hakimi too. The defender deliberately body-checked the midfielder, which is an offence under Law 14.
Hakimi received a yellow card for stepping away from the ball, but Mangani’s tackle was reckless and unnecessary. It is clear that he intended to injure or foul Hakimi and deserves a red card for his dangerous play.